Call for Papers

Download PDF Version



25-27 June 2014, Mauritius


Organized jointly by Faculty of Law and Management, University of Mauritius, Mauritius and

School of Hospitality Business Management, Washington State University, USA


Following the success of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Advances in Hospitality and Tourism Marketing and Management conference (AHTMMC) held in Turkey, Greece, and Taiwan respectively, the 4th AHTMMC will be held in Mauritius from 25 to 27 June 2014. The goal of the conference will be to thoroughly examine contemporary hospitality and tourism issues, stimulate dialogue, and develop new perspectives in the field of hospitality and tourism within the globalized environment. The conference will invite conceptual, empirical, and methodological research papers, and country context case studies on different tourism and hospitality themes. Papers and presentations are expected to address both the theoretical, methodological, and practical aspects of tourism and hospitality marketing and management. The scientific committee of the conference comprises of established and leading scholars in the fields of hospitality and tourism. Further details on the conference can be found on The conference secretariat can be contacted on This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Publication Opportunities

All submitted papers will follow a rigorous double-blind review process and will be accepted and published in the conference proceedings (CD version with ISBN) based on reviewers’ recommendations. Participants can publish either full papers or abstracts in the conference proceedings. In addition, selected full papers from the conference will be considered for publication in special issues of Journal of Hospitality Marketing and Management and other selected tourism and hospitality journals.

Important Dates and Deadlines

Deadline for submission of abstracts (500 words): 15 December 2013

Deadline for submission of full papers (5000-6000 words): 30 March 2014

Deadline for early registration: 30 April 2014

Deadline for late registration: 1 June 2014


Registration Fees

Single participant (Early bird): 350 Euros*

Late registration (after 30 April 2014): 450 Euros*

Registered student: 250 Euros*

Accompanying partner: 150 Euros**

*Includes conference proceedings and access to full conference activities, excluding accommodation

**Includes access to full conference activities, excluding accommodation

Conference Topics

The organizing committee welcomes papers on the following (but not limited to) broad topics: Tourism, hospitality, and leisure marketing; Market trends; Consumer behavior in tourism and hospitality settings; Hospitality finance; Hospitality and tourism product development; Tourism economics; Operational issues in tourism and hospitality; Food tourism and food tourism marketing; Tourism and hospitality education; Human resource issues in tourism & hospitality; Emerging markets; Legal issues in tourism and hospitality; Technological issues in tourism and hospitality; Transport and travel management; Health and safety issues in tourism hospitality; Climate change and tourism development; Innovation and product development in tourism and hospitality; Development of conceptual models; Methodological issues in tourism and hospitality; Quantitative analysis; Tourism policy and planning; Sustainable tourism; Community-based tourism; Pro-poor tourism; Tourism forecasting; Ethical issues in tourism and hospitality; Film tourism; Government intervention in tourism; Gambling tourism; Tourism and hospitality developments in African economies; Case studies on successful hospitality marketing programs; Future trends in tourism and hospitality marketing and management.

Submission Guidelines

Participants should initially submit an abstract of 500 words and depending on the outcome of the review process, they will be invited to submit full papers. Papers should be between 5,000 and 6,000 words and should be prepared based on the formatting guidelines of Journal of Hospitality Marketing and Management which can be found on: All documents should be submitted as word attachments to the Conference Secretariat on This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .


Conference Chairs and Organizing Committee


Dr R. Nunkoo (Conference co-chair); Professor D. Gursoy (Conference co-chair); Dr T.D. Juwaheer (Conference program co-chair); Dr B. Seetanah (Conference program co-chair); Dr R.V. Sannassee; Dr J. Matadeen; Mr M. Lamport; Dr V. Napal

Scientific Committee

Prof. John Tribe (University of Surrey, UK); Prof. Bill Bramwell (Sheffield Hallam University, UK); Prof. Chris Ryan (University of Waikato, New Zealand); Prof. Cathy Hsu (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong); Prof. Andreas Zins (MODUL University Vienna, Austria); Prof. Fevzi Okumus (University of Central Florida, USA); Prof. Richard Perdue (Virginia Polytechnic, USA); Prof. John Fletcher (Bournemouth University, UK); Prof. Michael Hall (University of Canterbury, New Zealand); Prof. Mike Robinson (University of Birmingham, UK); Prof. Mike Weed (Canterbury Christ Church University, UK); Prof. Muzaffer Uysal (Virginia Polytechnic, USA); Prof. Anette Therkelse (Aalborg University, Denmark); Prof. Agustin Santana (La Laguna University, Spain); Prof. Alan A. Lew (Northern Arizona University, USA); Prof. Billy Bai (University of Nevada Las Vegas, USA); Prof. Bruce Tracey (Cornell University, USA); Prof. Cafer Topaloglu (Mugla Sitki Kocman University, Turkey); Prof. Cihan Cobanoglu (University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee, USA); Prof. Clark Hu (Temple University, USA); Prof. Frank Lindberg (University of Nordland, Norway); Prof. Hailin Qu (Oklahoma State University, USA); Prof. Kaye Chon (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong); Prof. Margaret Deery (Curtin University, Australia); Prof. Seyhmus Baloglu (University of Nevada, Las Vegas, USA); Prof. Stanislav Ivanov (International University College, Bulgaria); Prof. Youcheng Wang (University of Central Florida, USA); Professor Chris Rogerson (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)l; Mr. Tom Griffin (University of Waterloo, Canada); Prof. Bendan T. Chen (National Chin –Yi University of Technology, Taiwan); Prof. Carol. Y. Lu (Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan)